top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Lakshmi Manchu

 For women’s day, I wanted to speak to someone who is powerful, smart and talented. Lakshmi Manchu is an actress, producer and a popular TV presenter. She has not only acted in Tamil, Telugu, English and Hindi films but has also acted in a number of American TV series like Desperate Housewives, Las Vegas, and Mystery ER. She has won Multiple awards, like the South Indian International Movie Award, two Filmfare Awards South and the state Nandi Award. After acting in Mani Ratnam’s Kadal in 2011, she is doing a Tamil film after nearly 5 years. She is acting in the remake of Vidya Balan’s Tumhari Sulu in which she will be playing Neha Dhupia’s role. 

Lakshmi hosts a show called Memu Saitham on Gemini tv. A show where she helps people from humble backgrounds achieve their dreams. She also brings in celebrities and public figures to help those who she brings on to the show. The fact that she is doing such an incredible show and educating the public on certain topics that we sometimes forget to talk about and think about says a lot about who she is as a person. By hosting Memu Saitham, Lakshmi has given hope and a second chance to many people out there. 

I have known Lakshmi for quite a while now. We fondly call her “laku”. She is down to earth, gorgeous and is an amazing host. She has her own sense of style. Her Instagram page is full of pictures of the fun outfits that she wears. She loves wearing sarees, indo western outfits and bold prints. Lately she’s been wearing a lot of outfits with tassels! She sticks to Minimal dewy Makeup with a bold or nude lip shade. 1. How was it growing up with a famous dad? When I was young, I dint really know I had a famous dad. I lived in Chennai where everyone was somebody. We used to visit my village  where they spoke a lot about my granddad. So I knew my granddad was famous. After moving to Hyderabad, I realised how popular my dad was. 2. How does it feel to be doing a Tamil film after 5 years? I can’t wait, I feel like doing somersaults sometimes, I can’t walk. I am that excited! For me it wasn’t about doing a Hindi film or a Telugu film. I have always wanted to do a Tamil film. And I’m so excited to be doing one after 5 years. I dint even watch the original film before I agreed to do it. I accepted the role immediately. 3. Who is your favourite movie director and why? Steven Spielberg! From ET to Saving Private Ryan. He has done films that capture emotion so beautifully. He connects to his audience. 4. Who is your favourite upcoming Actor? Ummmm.... Ranveer Singh in Band Baaja Baaraat  was the last time I actually payed attention to an upcoming actor. There is no one who has really caught my eye since then. 5. Where do you see yourself 5 years from now? I don’t really have any plans as such. Anything that I have planned so far has not really turned out the way I wanted it to. I believe in living for the moment and giving my 100 percent to everything I’m working on now. 6. What are your makeup do’s and dont’s ? I am someone who has to wear makeup for long hours because of my profession. I put ice on my face before I apply my makeup. It really helps the Makeup sit well and I recommend it to everyone! Especially to those who live in Chennai. It helps with the heat. And makeup dont’s, don’t wear heavy base makeup. Let your skin breathe. Conceal your spots and keep your Makeup simple. 7. Holy grail makeup products that your swear by There is this brand called Valerie in Beverly Hills that sells water based Makeup in small quantities! I love it. I also love the entire Giorgio Armani Makeup line. The Trish Mcevoy B.B. cream is brilliant. Some SPF 35 and lipgloss after that and you’re good to go. 8. What is the biggest fashion faux pas according to you? When people wear clothes that don’t suit their body type but only wear clothes to be fashionable. Every body type is different. So people should wear what suits them rather than focusing on fashion trends. 9. What according to you is soul food? 

My mom’s food! She is an amazing cook. I usually don’t crave Indian food when I travel. But I love her food. 10. Your thoughts on women empowerment

The day we stop using the word “empowerment” is the day we are empowered. We must use the power we have already have within us. We are strong and must never feel the need to justify our place in the society.  

A note to lakshmi

Laku, Thank you for speaking to me in spite of your very busy schedule. Keep doing what you are doing! You are an inspiration to many.  

bottom of page